AMA Journal of Ethics®

Illuminating the art of medicine

Journal of Ethics Header

AMA Journal of Ethics®

Illuminating the art of medicine

Virtual Mentor. September 2005, Volume 7, Number 9.


  • Print
  • |

About the Contributors

Theme issue: Ethical Challenges in Organ Donation.

September Contributors

Arthur L. Caplan, PhD, is the chair and Robert and Emanuel Hart Professor of Medical Ethics at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. He has written extensively on the ethics of organ donation and transplantation. His most recent book, The Case of Terri Schiavo: Ethics at the End of Life, which he edited with James McCartney and Dominic Sisti, is set to be published in March 2006 by Prometheus.

John B. Chessare, MD, is president of Caritas Norwood Hospital in Norwood, Massachusetts. Until recently he was the senior vice president for Medical Affairs and chief medical officer at Boston Medical Center, the academic medical center of Boston University School of Medicine. Dr. Chessare's present work includes implementing system changes required for world-class health care. Dr. Chessare recently served as the co-chair of HRSA's initiative to increase organ donation nationally.

Danielle Cornell, BSN, is the executive director of LifeQuest Organ Recovery Services, the organ procurement organization (OPO) that serves northern Florida.

Jeffrey S. Crippin, MD, is a professor of medicine in the Division of Gastroenterology and the co-director of the GI Center, both at Washington University in St Louis, Missouri. He is the medical director of liver transplantation for the Barnes Jewish Hospital Transplant Program, also in St Louis. Dr. Crippin is the secretary-treasurer of the American Society of Transplantation and currently serves on the editorial board of the journal Liver Transplantation.

Elizabeth A. Davies, MD, is a clinical assistant professor of surgery at the Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio.

Mark D. Fox, MD, PhD, MPH, is chief of the Section of Medicine/Pediatrics and associate director of the Oklahoma Bioethics Center at the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine, in Tulsa. Dr. Fox is the past chair of the ethics committee for the Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network/United Network for Organ Sharing (OPTN/UNOS).

Aviva Goldberg, MD, is a joint fellow in medical humanities and bioethics and pediatric kidney disease at Northwestern University/ Children's Memorial Hospital in Chicago, Illinois. She is currently pursuing a master's degree in bioethics and health policy at the Neiswanger Institute of Bioethics at Loyola University.

Douglas W. Hanto, MD, PhD, is the Lewis Thomas Professor of Surgery at Harvard Medical School and chief of the Division of Transplantation at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston, Massachusetts.

Mitchell L. Henry, MD, is a professor of surgery, chief of the Division of Transplantation, and the deputy director of the Comprehensive Transplant Center at the Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio.

Richard J. Howard, MD, PhD, is the Robert H. and Kathleen M. Axline Professor of Surgery and head of the Division of Transplantation at the University of Florida. Dr. Howard is also the past president of the American Association of Transplant Surgeons and a member of the Board of Directors of UNOS (United Network for Organ Sharing).

Molly Mark is a writer and editor at Cassidy & Associates, a government relations and public policy firm in Washington, DC, which serves a range of hospitals, health centers, universities, associations, corporations, and other organizations across the country. She is the former director of government relations for the National Employee Benefits Institute in Washington. Prior to that role, she worked on health care issues for Senator Jim Jeffords (I-VT), the former chairman of the US Senate committee on health, education, labor, and pensions.

Arthur J. Matas, MD, is a professor of surgery and the director of the Renal Transplant Service at the University of Minnesota. He is the president-elect of the American Society of Transplant Surgeons and is a member of numerous other societies including the American Society of Transplantation, The Transplantation Society, the American Surgical Association, and the American Society of Nephrology. Dr. Matas's major research interests have been related to kidney transplantation—the organ shortage, donor outcome, and improving long-term results for kidney transplant recipients.

Timothy F. Murphy, PhD, is a professor of philosophy in the biomedical sciences at the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Chicago.

Thomas G. Peters, MD, is a professor of surgery and chief of the Transplant Service at the University of Florida Health Sciences Center in Jacksonville. In 1988, Dr. Peters organized and directed the Jacksonville Transplant Center at Methodist Medical Center and served as chairman of the Department of Surgery at Methodist Medical Center for 10 years. He was co-chief of surgery at the University of Florida and Shands Jacksonville from 1989 until 2001. Dr. Peters was in the US Army Reserve for 3 decades, during which time he was active staff at the Walter Reed Army Medical Center and served 3 active duty tours. He retired as a Medical Corps Colonel.

Michael Reiss, PhD, is a professor of science education at the Institute of Education, University of London, and head of its School of Mathematics, Science and Technology. He is the chief executive of Science Learning Centre London, honorary visiting professor at the University of York, docent at the University of Helsinki, director of the Salters-Nuffield Advanced Biology Project, a member of the Farm Animal Welfare Council, and editor of the journal Sex Education.

Stacey Wertlieb, MBe, is the research manager for the Program for Transplant Policy and Ethics at the Center for Bioethics at the University of Pennsylvania. Ms Wertlieb has a master's degree in bioethics from the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine.

Howard J. Worman, MD, is an associate professor of medicine and anatomy and cell biology at Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons in New York City.

Rachel Zeehandelaar is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania and a research assistant at the Center for Bioethics. She will be attending law school starting in the fall of 2005.

Sheldon Zink, PhD, earned her doctorate in medical anthropology. She is the director of the Program for Transplant Policy and Ethics and senior fellow at the Center for Bioethics at the University of Pennsylvania.

Staff contributors

Fritz Allhoff
Kelly Carroll
Lara Duda
Justin List, MAR
Andrew Nelson

Theme issue editor

Hari Nadiminti, MD, is a first-year resident in internal medicine at the Massachusetts General Hospital, in Boston, Massachusetts. He received a BS with honors in biology and an MD with research distinction from the University of Miami.

The viewpoints expressed on this site are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views and policies of the AMA.