AMA Journal of Ethics®

Illuminating the art of medicine

Journal of Ethics Header

AMA Journal of Ethics®

Illuminating the art of medicine

Virtual Mentor. May 2013, Volume 15, Number 5: 485-487.


  • Print
  • |
  • View PDF

About the Contributors

Theme issue: Reality and Perception in the Management of Pain

Theme Issue Editor

Bharat Kumar, MD, is a second-year internal medicine resident at the University of Kentucky in Lexington. He is also a Yale/Stanford Johnson & Johnson Global Health Scholar and the recipient of the 2013 Jordan Fieldman, MD, Award for Healthcare Advocacy. He received his MD from Saba University School of Medicine and his BA in political science from the University of Pennsylvania. His research interests include rheumatology, immunology, medical ethics, medical education, and narrative medicine.


Fernando Antelo, MD, is a surgical pathology fellow in the Department of Pathology at Olive View UCLA Medical Center in Los Angeles. Since 2006, he has lectured on Frida Kahlo and her artwork from a medical humanities perspective, including a talk entitled “Frida Kahlo—The Forgotten Medical Student.” Readers can follow him on Twitter at @AnteloMD.

Gillian Bendelow, PhD, is a professor of medical sociology at the University of Sussex and a member of the advisory board of Chronic Pain Australia. She is the author of Pain and Gender (Pearson Education, 2000) and Health, Emotion and the Body (Polity, 2009) and co-author of The Lived Body (Routledge, 1998). Her work focuses on concepts of health and illness in contemporary health care.

Jack M. Berger, MS, MD, PhD, is a professor of clinical anesthesiology and program director for fellowships in regional anesthesia at the University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine in Los Angeles. He was the establishing director of Los Angeles County+University of Southern California Medical Center’s symptom management and palliative care program, one of the first such programs to be offered at a county facility in the U.S. He has a master’s degree in environmental health sciences, a PhD in environmental medicine, and a certificate of extra qualification in pain management from the American Board of Anesthesiology.

Valarie Blake, JD, MA, is the senior research associate for the American Medical Association’s Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs in Chicago. Ms. Blake completed the Cleveland Fellowship in Advanced Bioethics, received her law degree with a certificate in health law and concentrations in bioethics and global health from the University of Pittsburgh School of Law, and obtained a master’s degree in bioethics from Case Western Reserve University. Her research focuses on ethical and legal issues in assisted reproductive technology and reproductive tissue transplants, as well as regulatory issues in research ethics.

David Borsook, MD, PhD, is the director of the Center for Pain and the Brain at Harvard Medical School and the Pain and Analgesia Imaging Neuroscience (P.A.I.N.) Group at Boston Children’s Hospital. A neurologist and neurobiologist by training, he has been the recipient of a number of NIH grants and directed the Massachusetts General Hospital pain center.

Jeremy Cumberledge, MD, is a resident physician at the University of Kentucky Hospital in Lexington. A native of Charleston, West Virginia, he is a graduate of the Marshall University School of Medicine and is interested in gastroenterology.

Kristy Deep, MD, MA, is a general internist and medical educator at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine in Lexington. She has master’s degrees in education and bioethics. Her clinical and research interests are in clinical ethics and end-of-life care.

Igor Grant, MD, is a professor and executive vice chair of the Department of Psychiatry and director of the HIV Neurobehavioral Research Program (HNRP) at the University of California, San Diego School of Medicine. Dr. Grant is the founding editor of the Journal of the International Neuropsychological Society and founding co-editor of the journal AIDS and Behavior.

Craig T. Hartrick, MD, is a professor of biomedical sciences and anesthesiology at Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine in Rochester, Michigan. He is board certified in both anesthesiology and pain medicine and is the editor in chief of the journal Pain Practice.

Roberta L. Hines, MD, is Nicholas M. Greene Professor of Anesthesiology and chair of the anesthesiology department at Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut.

Robert Learch, DO, is a resident physician at the University of Kentucky Hospital in Lexington. A native of Omaha, Nebraska, he is a graduate of Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences and is interested in primary care internal medicine and palliative care.

Sukanya Mitra, MD, MAMS, is a professor of anesthesiology in the Department of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care at the Government Medical College and Hospital in Chandigarh, India. She has been the recipient of a pain research fellowship at Yale University, the Rukmani Pandit Award, Kop’s Award, and a scholarship from the Indian Society of Anaesthesiologists and the World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists. Her chief interests are acute and chronic pain management, including labor analgesia and cancer pain management, and pain education.

Pamela L. Pentin, JD, MD, is an assistant professor of family medicine at the University of Washington School of Medicine in Seattle and a practicing family physician. Her areas of scholarly interest include chronic pain management, the treatment of addiction, and physician practice management, and she lectures regionally and nationally on these topics. She is also an attorney.

Nalini Vadivelu, MD, is an associate professor of anesthesiology in the Department of Anesthesiology at Yale University. She is certified by the American Board of Anesthesiology and has completed an accredited pain fellowship at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York. Her educational and research interests are in pain management. She is the editor of five textbooks in the field of pain management and has patents in airway devices in several countries.

Ronald Wyatt, MD, MHA, is the medical director in the Division of Healthcare Improvement at The Joint Commission, where he serves as a resource for patient safety information and promotes patient safety and quality improvement. He previously served as director of the Patient Safety Analysis Center at the U.S. Department of Defense, where he led the implementation of its patient safety registries to track and analyze adverse patient safety events. He was a 2009-2010 Institute for Healthcare Improvement Merck Fellow and co-authored the book Taking Charge of Your Own Health (Harvest House, 2009).